mscs wave

Manchester and Stockport Canal Society

Home. Projects. News. Events. 100 Club. More ... Mail: pd@pdoh.co.uk

13/9/21

Last site update :

Click here for MSCS Current Month Calendar



PAST EVENTS


2020


(Please look on the “News” page for photos from past events.)


IWA Online Open Talks or Webinars:  Please click on the webinar title you wish to view via YouTube.

Alternatively use this  IWA YouTube Channel  link.


Monday 14th December -Managing Boats on London’s Busy Waterways”.  Matthew Symonds.


Wednesday 9th December - “Mammals on the Waterways”.  Paul Wilkinson.


Tuesday 8th December -Innovations in CRT”.  Neil Owen.


Thursday 26th November -The Historic Docks of Liverpool”.  Bill Froggatt.


Tuesday 24th November -IWA at 75:  Water, Camera, Action - the art of waterways photography”.  Margaret Beardsmore.


Monday 23rd November -Cherishing the Tidal Thames”.  A. J. McConville.


Thursday  19th November - “River Ouse Water Supply”.  Lee Dance.


Wednesday 18th November -The Stamford Canal - Lincolnshire’s forgotten waterway”.  Ken Otter.


Thursday 12th November -Enhancing Chelmsford Waterways”.  Roy Chandler.


Wednesday 11th November - “Restoration of the Bradley Arm”.  Dave Pearson.


Thursday 29th October - “Bats on our Waterways”.  Diane Rollin.


Monday 26th October -Finding, Accessing and Restoring our Waterways with London WRG”.  Tim Lewis.


Tuesday 20th October -IWA at 75 - three regional campaigns with national significance”.  Audrey Smith OBE.


Thursday 8th October -Leading Canal & River Trust Back from Lockdown”.  Richard Parry and Daniel Greenhalgh.


Thursday 24th September -Current Trends in Inland Boatbuilding and What the Future may have in Store”.  Mark Langley.


Wednesday 23rd September -The UK’s Heritage Ports and Harbours initiative”.  Brian Corbett and Andrea Raiker.


Monday 21st September -Hire Boat Holidays - will our holidays of the future be a break from the past?”  Sharon Mills, Carl Onens and Karen Wyatt.


Tuesday 11th August -IWA at 75:  A Waterway Revolution”.  Kate Saffin.


Monday 27th July -Canal Planning and Conservation in West London.  Ray Gill and Roger Still.


Tuesday 21st July  -To Obscurity and Beyond - completing the Silver Propeller Challenge”.  Michael and Jo Morehouse.


Monday 22nd June -A journey up the Chelmer and Blackwater Navigation”.  Roy Chandler.


Thursday 11th June -Biodiversity Net Gain”.  Alex Melson.


Tuesday 9th June -Looking after the Chelmer & Blackwater Navigation”.  Roy Chandler.


Tuesday 2nd June -Scottish Waterways - now and the future”.  Jonathan Mosse.


Tuesday 26th May -Sustainable Propulsion”.  Bowman Bradley.


Thursday 21st May -Invasive Species & Biosecurity”.  Alex Melson.


Tuesday 19th May -Canal Archaeology”.  Ralph Mills.


Tuesday 12th May -Boston to Peterborough Wetland Corridor - water transfer”.  Chris Howes.


Tuesday 5th May -IWA - protecting waterways heritage”.  Amy Tillson.


Tuesday 28th April - IWA Webinars:

Changing the face of the Ashton Canal”.  Maarja Kaaristo.

IWA - bringing waterways to the attention of government.  Alison Smedley.


Monday 13th April - IWA Webinar -Curiosities of the Fens”.  Chris Howes.


Thursday 9th and Saturday 4th April - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road) and Fallowfield Loop.  (Cancelled due to Coronavirus.)


Monday 6th April - IWA Open Talk - “Exploring Manchester’s Hidden Heritage”.  Martin Zero.  (Cancelled due to Coronavirus.)


Friday 20th March to Monday 13th April - The GB Spring Clean Campaign.  (Postponed until 11-27 September due to Coronavirus.  See  website  here.)


Saturday 14th and Thursday 12th March - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road) and Fallowfield Loop.  Please click  here  for report.


Monday 9th March - IWA Open Talk - “The Wooden Canal Boat Society”.  Chris Leah.


Saturday 15th and Thursday 13th February - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road) and Fallowfield Loop.  Please click  here  for report.


Monday 10th February - IWA Open Talk - “The Lancaster Canal Northern Reaches”.  Audrey Smith OBE.  (Unfortunately Audrey was unable to attend, so Phil gave an interesting talk on his trip to the Antartica region.)


Monday 13th January - IWA Open Talk - “The Warrington Transporter Bridge”.  Margaret Ingham.


Saturday 11th and Thursday 9th January - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road) and Fallowfield Loop.  Please click  here  for report.


2019


Saturday 14th and Thursday 12th December - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road) and Fallowfield Loop.  Please click  here  for report.


Monday 9th December - IWA Christmas Social and Jacob’s Feast.


Saturday 16th November - Broadstone Mill Fun Day, Broadstone Road, Reddish.


Saturday 16th and Thursday 14th November - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road) and Fallowfield Loop.  Please click  here  for report.


Monday 11th November - IWA Open Talk - “Archaeology at Worsley”.  Dr. Mike Nevill.


Sunday 20th October - AGM at Stockport Labour Club, 2 Lloyd St., Heaton Norris, Stockport, SK4 1QP.  See  minutes  here.


Monday 14th October - IWA Open Talk - “Freight on Inland Waterways”.  David Lowe.


Saturday 12th and Thursday 10th October - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road) and Fallowfield Loop.  Please click  here  for report.


Saturday 14th and Thursday 12th September - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road) and Fallowfield Loop.  Please click  here  for report.


Monday 16th September - IWA Manchester September Boat Cruise on the Emmeline Pankhurst.


Sunday 22nd September - Manchester Road Park Fun Day, Ash Grove, Heaton Chapel.  (Unfortunately this event was cancelled due to bad weather.)


Saturday 7th September - Openshaw Festival, Lime Square Retail Park, Ashton Old Road, Openshaw.


Saturday 10th and Thursday 8th August - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road) and Fallowfield Loop.  Please click  here  for report.


Sunday 4th August - North Reddish Park Fun Day, Longford Road West, Reddish.


Friday 26th July - Broadstone Mill Outlet Cafe, Broadstone Road, Reddish.


Saturday 13th and Thursday 11th July - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road) and Fallowfield Loop.  Please click  here  for report.


Sunday 23rd June - Reddish Festival “Reddfest”, Houldsworth Square.


Saturday 15th and Thursday 13th June - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road) and Fallowfield Loop.  Please click  here  for report.


Sunday 19th May - IWA Day Trip to the Chesterfield Canal.


Saturday 18th May - Clayton Hall Open Day.


Saturday 11th and Thursday 9th May - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road).  Please click  here  for report.


Sunday 28th April - Manchester Book Fair.


Saturday 13th and Thursday 11th April - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road) and Fallowfield Loop.  Please click  here  for a report of these events.


Monday 8th April - IWA Open Talk - “The Daniel Adamson”.  Les Green and Bob Cannell (The Danny Preservation Society).


Saturday 6th April - IWA North West Region Social.


Friday 22nd March to Tuesday 23rd April - The Keep Britain Tidy Spring 2019 Campaign.


Saturday 16th and Thursday 14th March - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road) and Fallowfield Loop.  Please click  here  for a report of these events.


Monday 11th March - IWA Open Talk - “Narrowboat Carrying in the Latter Days”.  Paul Monahan.


Saturday 16th and Thursday 14th February - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road) and Fallowfield Loop.  Please click  here  for a report of these events.


Monday 11th February - IWA Open Talk - “The Manchester Ship Canal - Orthopaedics, Trauma and Ethiopia Links”.  Tony Clayson.


Saturday 9th February - Gorton Aqueduct clean-up.


Monday 14th January - IWA Open Talk - “A Short History of Pleasure Boating on British Canals”.  Maarja Kaaristo.


Saturday 12th and Thursday 10th January - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road) and Fallowfield Loop.  Please click  here  for a report of these events.