mscs wave

Manchester and Stockport Canal Society

Home. Projects. News. Events. 100 Club. More ... Mail: pd@pdoh.co.uk

23/3/20

Last site update :

Click here for MSCS Current Month Calendar


FORTHCOMING EVENTS


Pocket Parks and Parklets - These are small areas which members of the public can identify for protection as green spaces.  The “Yellow Brick Road” has been logged on the BEE network website by MSCS with a further proposal to be submitted for North Reddish Park.  Comments in support of these parks are requested by the website and your support would be appreciated.  Click  here  to see the BEE Network and Parklet Consultation Map User Guide, from where you can access the map and give your support.


IWA Open Talks Programme 2020 - all talks take place at 7:45pm

onboard the trip boat Emmeline Pankhurst, moored on

Potato Wharf, Castlefield, Manchester M3 4JR.

Please click  here  for directions.


Saturday 4th April 2020 - Monthly clean-up of the Fallowfield Loop.

(Cancelled due to Coronavirus.)


Monday 6th April 2020 - IWA Open Talk - “Exploring Manchester’s

Hidden Heritage”.  Martin Zero.  (Cancelled due to Coronavirus.)

See  details  here.


Thursday 9th April 2020 - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow

Brick Road).  (Cancelled due to Coronavirus.)


(All forthcoming organised litter picks have been cancelled due to the pandemic.  Details of up-coming litter picks will be advertised here once the pandemic has passed.)



PAST EVENTS


2020


(Please look on the “News” page for photos from past events.)


Friday 20th March to Monday 13th April - The GB Spring Clean Campaign.  (Postponed until 11-27 September due to Coronavirus.  See  website  here.)


Saturday 14th and Thursday 12th March - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road) and Fallowfield Loop.  Please click  here  for report.


Monday 9th March - IWA Open Talk - “The Wooden Canal Boat Society”.  Chris Leah.


Saturday 15th and Thursday 13th February - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road) and Fallowfield Loop.  Please click  here  for report.


Monday 10th February - IWA Open Talk - “The Lancaster Canal Northern Reaches”.  Audrey Smith OBE.  (Unfortunately Audrey was unable to attend, so Phil gave an interesting talk on his trip to the Antartica region.)


Monday 13th January - IWA Open Talk - “The Warrington Transporter Bridge”.  Margaret Ingham.


Saturday 11th and Thursday 9th January - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road) and Fallowfield Loop.  Please click  here  for report.


2019


Saturday 14th and Thursday 12th December - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road) and Fallowfield Loop.  Please click  here  for report.


Monday 9th December - IWA Christmas Social and Jacob’s Feast.


Saturday 16th November - Broadstone Mill Fun Day, Broadstone Road, Reddish.


Saturday 16th and Thursday 14th November - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road) and Fallowfield Loop.  Please click  here  for report.


Monday 11th November - IWA Open Talk - “Archaeology at Worsley”.  Dr. Mike Nevill.


Sunday 20th October - AGM at Stockport Labour Club, 2 Lloyd St., Heaton Norris, Stockport, SK4 1QP.  See  minutes  here.


Monday 14th October - IWA Open Talk - “Freight on Inland Waterways”.  David Lowe.


Saturday 12th and Thursday 10th October - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road) and Fallowfield Loop.  Please click  here  for report.


Saturday 14th and Thursday 12th September - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road) and Fallowfield Loop.  Please click  here  for report.


Monday 16th September - IWA Manchester September Boat Cruise on the Emmeline Pankhurst.


Sunday 22nd September - Manchester Road Park Fun Day, Ash Grove, Heaton Chapel.  (Unfortunately this event was cancelled due to bad weather.)


Saturday 7th September - Openshaw Festival, Lime Square Retail Park, Ashton Old Road, Openshaw.


Saturday 10th and Thursday 8th August - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road) and Fallowfield Loop.  Please click  here  for report.


Sunday 4th August - North Reddish Park Fun Day, Longford Road West, Reddish.


Friday 26th July - Broadstone Mill Outlet Cafe, Broadstone Road, Reddish.


Saturday 13th and Thursday 11th July - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road) and Fallowfield Loop.  Please click  here  for report.


Sunday 23rd June - Reddish Festival “Reddfest”, Houldsworth Square.


Saturday 15th and Thursday 13th June - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road) and Fallowfield Loop.  Please click  here  for report.


Sunday 19th May - IWA Day Trip to the Chesterfield Canal.


Saturday 18th May - Clayton Hall Open Day.


Saturday 11th and Thursday 9th May - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road).  Please click  here  for report.


Sunday 28th April - Manchester Book Fair.


Saturday 13th and Thursday 11th April - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road) and Fallowfield Loop.  Please click  here  for a report of these events.


Monday 8th April - IWA Open Talk - “The Daniel Adamson”.  Les Green and Bob Cannell (The Danny Preservation Society).


Saturday 6th April - IWA North West Region Social.


Friday 22nd March to Tuesday 23rd April - The Keep Britain Tidy Spring 2019 Campaign.


Saturday 16th and Thursday 14th March - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road) and Fallowfield Loop.  Please click  here  for a report of these events.


Monday 11th March - IWA Open Talk - “Narrowboat Carrying in the Latter Days”.  Paul Monahan.


Saturday 16th and Thursday 14th February - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road) and Fallowfield Loop.  Please click  here  for a report of these events.


Monday 11th February - IWA Open Talk - “The Manchester Ship Canal - Orthopaedics, Trauma and Ethiopia Links”.  Tony Clayson.


Saturday 9th February - Gorton Aqueduct clean-up.


Monday 14th January - IWA Open Talk - “A Short History of Pleasure Boating on British Canals”.  Maarja Kaaristo.


Saturday 12th and Thursday 10th January - Monthly clean-up of the canal path (Yellow Brick Road) and Fallowfield Loop.  Please click  here  for a report of these events.