mscs wave

Manchester and Stockport Canal Society

Home. Projects. News. Events. 100 Club. More ... Mail: pd@pdoh.co.uk

11/7/21

Last site update :

Click here for MSCS Current Month Calendar

FORTHCOMING EVENTS


Pocket Parks and Parklets - These are small areas which members of the public can identify for protection as green spaces.  The “Yellow Brick Road” has been logged on the BEE network website by MSCS with a further proposal to be submitted for North Reddish Park.  Comments in support of these parks are requested by the website and your support would be appreciated.  Click  here  to see the BEE Network and Parklet Consultation Map User Guide, from where you can access the map and give your support.


IWA Open Talks Programme - all talks take place at 7:45pm

onboard the trip boat Emmeline Pankhurst, moored on

Potato Wharf, Castlefield, Manchester M3 4JR.


(All forthcoming IWA Open Talks will only take place online until further notice due to the pandemic.  Also all future organised litter picks have been cancelled for the time being.  Details of up-coming litter picks and other events will be advertised here once the pandemic has passed.)


PAST EVENTS


2021


IWA Online talks or webinars:  Please click on the webinar title you wish to view via YouTube.

Alternatively use this  IWA YouTube Channel  link.


Monday 7th June - “2021 Proposals for Managing Boats in London”.  Matthew Symonds.


Wednesday 26th May - “HS2 impact on the Colne Valley Park and across the Chilterns”.  Keith Hoffmeister.


Monday 24th May -Changing Landscape of Canals in London”.  Tim Lewis.


Thursday 13th May - “Crossing the Severn”.  Brian Margetson.


Thursday 29th April -Sustainable Propulsion on the Inland Waterways”.  Bowman Bradley.


Wednesday 28th April -Manchester Ship Canal”.  Richard Thomas.


Tuesday 27th April - “The Story of IWA Canalway Cavalcade”.  Libby Bradshaw.


Wednesday 21st April - “Burton’s 18th century waterways… and ‘tipsy Romanovs’”.  John Parry.


Friday 16th April - “My Perspective of the Seven Wonders of the Waterways”.  Iain Campbell.


Tuesday 13th April -How many boat lifts? From Gdańsk to Ostróda via the Elbląg Kanał”.  John Pomfret.


Thursday 8th April - “The Sleeping Beauty - Restoration of the Cromford Canal”.  Mike Kelley.


Wednesday 7th April -Milton Keynes to Bedford Waterways”.  IWA Chiltern Branch.


Tuesday 30th March -The art of waterways photography - how to frame the perfect shot”.  Kev Maslin.


Thursday 25th March - “Scottish Canals”.  Jonathan Mosse.


Monday 22nd March -Royal Gunpowder Mills”.  Richard Thomas.


Monday 1st March - “Moss Naylor Young 10th Anniversary Celebration”.  Patrick Moss.


Wednesday 24th February -History and Restoration of the Wendover Canal”.  Clive Johnson.


Monday 22nd February -Trade under Sail, the Past and the Future”.  Brian Corbett.


Friday 19th February -River Nene & Fenland Waterways - Part 1”;  “ - Part 2”.  IWA East Yorkshire Branch.


Wednesday 17th February - “New Lives from Old Boats”.  Chris Leah.


Tuesday 2nd February -Work of the Waterway Chaplains”.  Adrian and Chris Dann.


Thursday 28th January - “Reservoir Safety”.  David Brown.


Tuesday 26th January -Navigation Authority Underfunding - what the future holds”.  John Packman, James Taylor, Mark Stoneham and Mark Baker.


Wednesday 20th January - “Extreme Voyages - 1896 to 1968”.  Jeremy Batch.


Tuesday 12th January -River waterways of North East England”.  John Pomfret.


Monday 11th January -Bradley Canal Restoration”.  Dave Pearson.